BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

                                                  Cincinnati, Ohio           Saturday,  May 5, 2007

Attendance - 16

Unit 117 (2):  Betty Mattison, Beth Reid                                 Unit 136 (2): Georgia Banziger

Unit 122 (2):                                                                                                  Unit 164 (1): Matt Heuser

Unit 124 (2):  Potter Orr, Patti English                          Unit 193 (2):  

Unit 130 (2):  Jim Cunningham, Bob Lyon                    Unit 227 (1):  Jim Olson

Also present:  Bob Sulgrove, President;  Jim Reiman, District Director;   Nancy Sachs, Secretary;  Annease Comer, ABA;  Guests: Sharon Fairchild, ACBL President;  G. S. Jade Barrett; Matt Heuser, Unit 164.


The meeting began at 5:00 PM with President Bob Sulgrove presiding. He introduced the President of the ACBL, Sharon Fairchild and welcomed her to the meeting.

SECRETARY’S REPORT    The minutes of the November 11, 2006, meeting were mailed to the representatives.  (Copy attached)   Beth Reid moved and Jim Olson seconded that the minutes be approved as corrected.  Passed  unanimously.  Nancy Sachs asked for additions/corrections to the list of members and Unit Representatives to the Board of Directors, as well as their e-mail addresses


TREASURER’S  REPORT.  Bob Lyon, substituting for Treasurer John Hinton, distributed the Treasurer’s Report, which included the current financial statement, the current Midwest Monitor statement, and the financial

report from the GNT District Final.  (Copies attached)The balance as of 5/5/2007 is $20.358.00, showing a profit for 2007 of $15.00. This amount does not include the $4,170.90 owed from various units for ads and first half 2007 Monitor fee.  All third place finishers in the GNT have been paid.  The GNT District Final made a profit of $1,792.10.  This compares to $951 last year.  The Monitor continues to make a small profit each quarter.  No change in the fee structure is needed at this time. Betty Mattison moved and Jim Cunningham seconded that the reports be approved as written.  Passed unanimously.


DISTRICT DIRECTOR’S  REPORT.  Jim Reiman reported that at the meeting in St. Louis a new foundation was established for contributions to the such things as the Hall of Fame and the Library.  The prize awards for the NAP were changed.  They will be monetary awards received after the competition;   First place contestants will receive $700 each, second place contestants will receive $300 each.  The District gives a prize of $100 to the third place team, provided that they play in the national final.

MIDWEST MONITOR.    Betty Mattison reported that the publication is running smoothly.  The next deadline is May 25 and she requested the articles be brief.


AMERICAN BRIDGE ASSOCIATION.    Annease Comer  reported that in 2009 we hope to have another ACBL/ABA game and encouraged our district to promote this. 


TOURNAMENT REPORT.   Bob Lyon, Tournament Coordinator, distributed the 2008 Schedule.  The dates were reviewed and the District Finals of the NAP will be November 1. No dates for 2009 have been submitted from Central Indiana.  Cincinnati must send in a sanction for the 2010 Regional.  He requested that the flyers for our tournaments mention the bigger city as the location.  As an example, the Columbus-Dayton Regional should have Dayton listed in parentheses after Fairborn. Units need to send sanctions for 2008 sectional. Beth Reid reminded us of the Buffett Cup September 15-18, 2008.  She also reminded us that we must support the 2011 NABC in Louisville.



GNT/NAP   Betty Mattison distributed a report (copy attached). The report included the Conditions of Contest for flights as suggested by the ACBL.  A discussion followed about the number of boards played.  It should be specified that there will be no carryovers.  Betty Mattison and Bob Sulgrove will work on this and report at the next meeting


Membership  Allocation.   Jim Reiman reported on the membership allocation as it is done now. A discussion followed.  Bob Lyon moved and Beth Reid seconded that we vote at the next meeting on the following proposed change to the bylaws.  “Beginning January 1, 2008, each Unit in District 11 shall appoint or elect  two representatives to the Board of Directors.”  Passed  unanimously.  All units will receive 30 days notice of this vote.


Jim Reiman reminded the Board that his term as District Representative ends this year.  Beth Reid and Joyce Penn have declared their desire to run for this office.  If an election is necessary, the ACBL Director of Elections will notify each unit with the procedures.   All unit Board of Directors must have an election meeting between August 15 and September 30 and the ballots must be mailed to the ACBL.  Candidates may attend the unit’s election meetings.


Insurance  Status & Recommendations.  Beth Reid moved and Jim Reiman seconded that the District only have the ACBL insurance.  Passed  unanimously.


Potter Orr asked for suggestions for the Web Site.   The following were suggested: District Financial reports, 70% Club, Special unit games, and masterpoint milestones.



Susan Bullard will report at the next meeting about a District-Wide Charity competition.


G. S.  Jade Barrett spoke on promoting bridge and gave suggestions.  One suggestion was that units have an IMP League with each team of four be made up of four players from different master point categories. He suggested that we target families to participate and join the ACBL.  He also suggested that we allow players under the age of 20 to play of $1.00.  He recommended that at each meeting we have new ideas for growth.  We need more interaction between the stronger and the weaker players.  He reminded us that there are 10,000 members with fewer than one masterpoint. 


The next meeting will be August 4, 2007, at the Columbus/Dayton Regional.


Potter Orr moved and Beth Reid seconded that the meeting be adjourned at 7:10 PM.  Passed unanimously.


                                                                     Respectfully submitted,



                                                                    Nancy Sachs, Secretary